Pet News - Animal Care Officer Lynn Webster shares a story of long-distance love in her own words - The Explorer: Pet News

Pet News - Animal Care Officer Lynn Webster shares a story of long-distance love in her own words

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, May 31, 2013 12:19 pm

This is Chato’s story. He was surrendered to Pima Animal Care Center by his owner on April 11, 2013. This dog spent the first two years of his life as a “backyard” dog –never allowed in the house, never socialized, and never treated as a member of a family. However, in spite of all that, he loved and trusted people. He was affectionate, good with people and other dogs. He was placed for adoption on April 12. 

Chato is half Shar-Pei and half German shepherd. He has this funny Shar-Pei face attached to a German shepherd body. He had no training and was full of energy. Even with our best volunteers, he was a handful. To quote one of our long term volunteers, “You take Chato out, and you know you’ve been for a walk!” 

So he sat in his kennel, looked over by everyone who walked through. He wasn’t a cute puppy. He wasn’t a purebred dog. And he had training issues. 

But he sat there every day, happy to be in our shelter. For the first time in his life, he could count on being fed every day. He always had fresh water. He had a clean kennel with soft bedding to sleep on. He had access to the outside sunshine, or he could go back inside when the day got warm. He had a kennel mate who became his best friend, and he had dozens of shelter staff and volunteers who cared about him. 

But still he sat there, day after day, while people walked by him, never taking a second look. 

Then on May 1, we received a phone call from Kerrie Turner, from San Francisco. She told me that she had been on our website and had seen a dog that was her dog’s twin. Her dog, Rex, looked exactly like Chato, she said, and her family was looking for another dog. 

Her enthusiasm was contagious. She said she felt an immediate connection with Chato and just knew he was meant to be a member of her family. We spoke at length, and Kerrie and I started to form a friendship over this dog. We both wanted the same thing for Chato: We both knew he needed to be her dog. 

She was making plans to fly to Tucson, adopt Chato, then rent a car and drive back to the Bay Area. (more)

I spoke with Shelter Supervisor Ivonne Lopez, Shelter Coordinator Justin Gallick, Rescue Coordinator Rachel Molyneux, and Clinic Supervisor Helen Beach. We all agreed this was a great opportunity for Chato. Arrangements were made, we evaluated him for a clean bill of health, verified he was neutered and prepared him for Kerrie’s arrival on May 7. 

Then life happened. 

Kerrie found she couldn’t take the time away to travel all the way to Tucson. She and her spouse, a police officer, work full time, and they are raising three young boys. She and I spoke on the phone again on May 9 and she explained that she couldn’t make it to Tucson until May 23. Even though my heart was breaking, I told her that there was no way we could hold a dog that long. If another adopter came along, we would have to take that opportunity. She was so understanding, and just like those of us at Pima Animal Care Center, she didn’t want to limit his options. She said “If it’s meant to be, it will happen.” 

She and I spoke every few days over the passing weeks, while Chato sat in his kennel. She and I became friends, and we both knew that this adoption was meant to be. Sometimes you just know. 

We spoke on May 21 and I told her that Chato was still there. She left from California May 23. She was going to try and get to Pima Animal Care Center before we closed that night. I was out on my regular duties as an Animal Care Officer and said I would be sorry to miss her and the adoption process. My new friend said “she was not leaving Tucson without meeting me.” We made some arrangements to meet in the morning. 

When they arrived at the shelter the next morning, Kerrie jumped out of the car, and we hugged like old friends. Then I took her and her partner, Christine, to meet Chato. It was love at first sight with Chato. Within minutes they had him on a leash, doing “sit,”, “down” and “stay.” He was on a leash, not pulling, totally focused on his new Mom. She walked, he walked. She stopped, he stopped and looked to her for direction. It was the perfect adoption and a new life for a dog that had been ignored and treated like a lawn ornament. 

Thank you to all of my PACC co-workers. This took a group effort. I’ve been getting pictures and videos non-stop from Chato’s home. This dog is in his glory. 

But most of all thank you, Kerrie and Christine, for giving an amazing dog a second chance. And for me, I have been blessed with two new lifelong friends.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

MOS: Monsoon Season

We asked the community about the Monsoon Season.

Wednesday 06/11/2014

Pet News - Free cats and kittens at Pima Animal Care in June with donation of cat supplies Pet News - HSSA protects community pets with free distemper vaccinations

Monday 06/09/2014

Pet News - Volunteers, HSSA neighbors show true commitment to pups

Thursday 06/05/2014

June Adopt-A-Shelter Cat Month

Tuesday 06/03/2014

Pet News - It’s Adopt A Shelter Cat Month

Friday 05/30/2014

Pet News - Tackling a mini-mountain of laundry at animal shelter: Supervisor Sharon Bronson challenges community to purchase washer/dryer

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Protect Your Family from Tick Bites and Lyme Disease

Tuesday 05/27/2014

Pet News - Furball Fiesta June 1: We’re kicking off our bid to find homes for 5,000 pets this summer!

Thursday 05/15/2014

Pet News - May 21: Free pet vaccination, wellness clinic for 100 patrons

Wednesday 05/14/2014

Pet News - Pick-Your-Pet Day at Chapman Used Cars on Speedway

Wednesday 04/30/2014

Pet News - Puttin on the Dog

Monday 04/28/2014

Pet News - Community, business leaders can help us find homes for homeless pets

Thursday 04/24/2014

Pet News - New Ways to Solve Cat Behavior Problems

Monday 04/21/2014

Pet News - Movie and a Cuddle

Thursday 04/17/2014

Pet News - Animal Foster Care at HSSA

Tuesday 04/15/2014

Pet News - New development director at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 04/07/2014

Annual Heartworm Check-up Keeps ‘Spring’ in Pets’ Steps

Thursday 04/03/2014

Pet News - Dr. Elizabeth Berliner, Cornell University, Pays a Visit to the Hermitage No Kill Cat Shelter & Sanctuary

Monday 03/31/2014

Pet News - Party Animal Birthday PAW-ty

Wednesday 03/26/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- April 5

Monday 03/24/2014

Pet News - Voters will have opportunity to decide on animal shelter improvements in November general election

Tuesday 03/18/2014

Pet News - Pima Animal Care Center’s new tent is open for business

Thursday 03/13/2014

Pet News - Happy Holly got a second chance

Tuesday 03/11/2014

Pet News - Puttin' on the Dog

Thursday 03/06/2014

Pet News - The Hermitage Bowl-a-thon

Monday 03/03/2014

Pet News - Hogs N Hounds Charity Ride

Friday 02/28/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- March 1

Monday 02/24/2014

Pet News - Tails & Ales Dog Wash 2014 - Barrio Brewery

Tuesday 02/18/2014

Pet News - Single Mingle: Do a good deed, have a great time and meet others at dog walk/cat cuddle only for singles

Monday 02/17/2014

Pet News - Movies with the cats "little shop of horrors"

Friday 02/14/2014

Pet News - Free Kitty February! We’ve got (too many) fabulous felines waiting to charm

Wednesday 02/12/2014

Pet News - Meet the new shelter veterinarian at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 02/10/2014

Pet News - February is Pet Dental Health Month: Are Your Dog’s Teeth Healthy?

Thursday 02/06/2014

Pet News - Hermitage Cat Shelter "Thrift Store & More" Grand Opening & Ribbon Cutting Event

Tuesday 02/04/2014

Pet News - Canine College

Wednesday 01/29/2014

Pet News - Hold onto your hats (and collars): Pima Animal Care Center is about to enter an "Empty the Shelter" challenge

Monday 01/27/2014

Pet News - The Million for Tucson Raffle

Thursday 01/23/2014

Pet News - Community service for students at Humane Society

Tuesday 01/21/2014

Pet News - Vaccination clinics at Humane Society

Friday 01/17/2014

Pet News - Free adoption weekend at Humane Society

Wednesday 01/15/2014

Pet News - Guess how many pets were adopted in December from Pima Animal Care Center?

Monday 01/13/2014

Pet News - Pima County wants to hear from you: What does it mean to be a pet-friendly community?

Thursday 01/09/2014

Pet News - Southern Arizona Beagle Rescue

Wednesday 01/08/2014

Pet News - Cover Dog Search and Pet Expo

Monday 01/06/2014

Pet News - Become a volunteer at the Humane Society

Friday 12/27/2013

Pet News - Spay and neuter pets at Humane Society

Tuesday 12/24/2013

Pet News - Our Warmest Holiday Wishes

Monday 12/23/2013

Pet News - Pima Animal Care Center cat cuddling and dog walking

Wednesday 12/18/2013

Pet News - Adoption Hidden Gems

Thursday 12/12/2013

Pima Animal Care Center to host job fair for animal care technicians
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll