Pet News - Pima County Health Department and its Animal Care Division respond to rabies concerns - The Explorer: Pet News

Pet News - Pima County Health Department and its Animal Care Division respond to rabies concerns

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, September 27, 2013 11:00 am

Pima County has confirmed positive cases of rabies in 20 wild animals so far in 2013, including 14 bats, five skunks, and one bobcat, according to the Pima County Health Department’s Epidemiology Program. 

Rabies is a disease caused by the rabies virus. Although humans usually get rabies from direct physical contact such as a bite or scratch from a rabid animal, no human rabies cases have been reported in Arizona in more than 30 years.

It may take a few weeks, or even a few years, for people to show symptoms after being infected with rabies. However, once someone with rabies starts developing symptoms, that person usually does not survive. 

Early symptoms may include: headache, a high temperature, irritability and sometimes itching or pain where the contact occurred. Eventually, as the disease progresses, a patient may experience paralysis, throat spasms, convulsions, delirium and death. 

The best protection against rabies is avoidance of risk. Be alert for changes in typical animal behavior. Use caution if you see nocturnal wild animals during the day or encounter animals that seem to have lost their fear of humans or appear to have paralysis of the limbs. 

Rabies can occur in bats or in other wildlife, including stray cats or dogs that have been injured. As tempting as it is to help injured pets, attempting to handle the pet may cause it pain and it may bite in response. Please remember to stay away from wildlife to include if you see a bat on the ground, do not touch it. Cover it with a box or container and immediately notify the Pima Animal Care Center at (520) 243-5900. 

Citizens seeing injured pets, unusual wildlife behavior or with questions or concerns about rabies due to possible contact with bats, skunks, or other wildlife are advised to call either the Pima Animal Care Center at (520) 243-5900, Option 3 or the Health Department’s Disease Line at (520) 243-7800.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Country Thunder Day 4

Country Thunder Day 4

Tuesday 04/15/2014

Pet News - New development director at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 04/07/2014

Annual Heartworm Check-up Keeps ‘Spring’ in Pets’ Steps

Thursday 04/03/2014

Pet News - Dr. Elizabeth Berliner, Cornell University, Pays a Visit to the Hermitage No Kill Cat Shelter & Sanctuary

Monday 03/31/2014

Pet News - Party Animal Birthday PAW-ty

Wednesday 03/26/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- April 5

Monday 03/24/2014

Pet News - Voters will have opportunity to decide on animal shelter improvements in November general election

Tuesday 03/18/2014

Pet News - Pima Animal Care Center’s new tent is open for business

Thursday 03/13/2014

Pet News - Happy Holly got a second chance

Tuesday 03/11/2014

Pet News - Puttin' on the Dog

Thursday 03/06/2014

Pet News - The Hermitage Bowl-a-thon

Monday 03/03/2014

Pet News - Hogs N Hounds Charity Ride

Friday 02/28/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- March 1

Monday 02/24/2014

Pet News - Tails & Ales Dog Wash 2014 - Barrio Brewery

Tuesday 02/18/2014

Pet News - Single Mingle: Do a good deed, have a great time and meet others at dog walk/cat cuddle only for singles

Monday 02/17/2014

Pet News - Movies with the cats "little shop of horrors"

Friday 02/14/2014

Pet News - Free Kitty February! We’ve got (too many) fabulous felines waiting to charm

Wednesday 02/12/2014

Pet News - Meet the new shelter veterinarian at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 02/10/2014

Pet News - February is Pet Dental Health Month: Are Your Dog’s Teeth Healthy?

Thursday 02/06/2014

Pet News - Hermitage Cat Shelter "Thrift Store & More" Grand Opening & Ribbon Cutting Event

Tuesday 02/04/2014

Pet News - Canine College

Wednesday 01/29/2014

Pet News - Hold onto your hats (and collars): Pima Animal Care Center is about to enter an "Empty the Shelter" challenge

Monday 01/27/2014

Pet News - The Million for Tucson Raffle

Thursday 01/23/2014

Pet News - Community service for students at Humane Society

Tuesday 01/21/2014

Pet News - Vaccination clinics at Humane Society

Friday 01/17/2014

Pet News - Free adoption weekend at Humane Society

Wednesday 01/15/2014

Pet News - Guess how many pets were adopted in December from Pima Animal Care Center?

Monday 01/13/2014

Pet News - Pima County wants to hear from you: What does it mean to be a pet-friendly community?

Thursday 01/09/2014

Pet News - Southern Arizona Beagle Rescue

Wednesday 01/08/2014

Pet News - Cover Dog Search and Pet Expo

Monday 01/06/2014

Pet News - Become a volunteer at the Humane Society

Friday 12/27/2013

Pet News - Spay and neuter pets at Humane Society

Tuesday 12/24/2013

Pet News - Our Warmest Holiday Wishes

Monday 12/23/2013

Pet News - Pima Animal Care Center cat cuddling and dog walking

Wednesday 12/18/2013

Pet News - Adoption Hidden Gems

Thursday 12/12/2013

Pima Animal Care Center to host job fair for animal care technicians

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Pet News - Home for the Holidays

Friday 12/06/2013

Pet News - Fire and Ice Skate Party

Tuesday 12/03/2013

Pet News: Books & Bake Sale: December 7th

Monday 12/02/2013

Pet News - "Share the Love" Subaru Adoption Event

Wednesday 11/27/2013

Our Warmest Holiday Wishes

Monday 11/25/2013

Pet News: Black Friday at Pima Animal Care Center

Thursday 11/21/2013

Pet News - Pima Animal Care Center thankful this season for community support in saving more lives

Monday 11/18/2013

Pet News - Restaurant Night Out at On the Border

Thursday 11/14/2013

Pet News - Pet and his “pet mom” reunited after 4 years, thanks to microchip

Tuesday 11/12/2013

Pet News - Home for the Holidays

Thursday 11/07/2013

Pet News - Paws for the Holidays 2013

Monday 11/04/2013

Pet News - Pet First Aid & CPR

Friday 11/01/2013

Pet News - Only $50 to adopt at Humane Society

Wednesday 10/30/2013

Pet News - Savvy on Service Animals

Monday 10/21/2013

Pet News - The Cat's Meow
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…