Pet News - Breaking down spay/neuter myths - The Explorer: Pet News

Pet News - Breaking down spay/neuter myths

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, March 20, 2013 1:27 pm

Pima Animal Care Center is privileged to care for homeless animals in the community, but to be honest, we see too many of them. And just as we do every spring, we'll be seeing litters of kittens and puppies brought to the shelter in need of homes.

If you want to help, the single most important thing you can do is spay or neuter your pets so they can't have new litters of kittens and puppies. As cute as they are, they grow into adults. And we already see upward of 23,000 stray, abused or abandoned animals a year at our shelter.

"Not only is spaying and neutering the responsible thing to do to improve animal welfare throughout the entire community, but on an individual basis, it will also help make your pet happier and healthier," said Kim Janes, Manager of Pima Animal Care Center.

It might be work revisiting some common myths:

-My pet will lose energy and pack on the pounds.

Altering your pets may reduce their tendency to wanter and may reduce some undeseriable incliniations, such as marking or being aggressive to other animals. The act of spaying or neutering alone won't lead to lethargy and/or weight gain, but all animals need proper exercise and diet to remain healthy and active.

-Children should have the opportunity to experience birth.

With educational content easily accessible online, there are other ways to provide your children an educational experience. Animals typically seek privacy when giving birth, so the additional stress of multiple witnesses could be disturbing to your pet. Spaying and neutering might be an important lesson for children in and of itself.

-Isn't anesthesia dangerous?

there is always a slight risk involved with undergoing anesthesia, but veterinatians can monitor the health of your pet during the procedure. If you're worried, talk to your vet. You'll find the health benefits associated with spay/neuter is likely to exceed the risk.

-Isn't it painful?

Your pet will be under anesthesia, so he or she won't feel pain. And any discomfort usually goes away with 1-3 days.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

More about

More about

Welcome to the discussion.

Country Thunder Day 4

Country Thunder Day 4

Tuesday 04/15/2014

Pet News - New development director at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 04/07/2014

Annual Heartworm Check-up Keeps ‘Spring’ in Pets’ Steps

Thursday 04/03/2014

Pet News - Dr. Elizabeth Berliner, Cornell University, Pays a Visit to the Hermitage No Kill Cat Shelter & Sanctuary

Monday 03/31/2014

Pet News - Party Animal Birthday PAW-ty

Wednesday 03/26/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- April 5

Monday 03/24/2014

Pet News - Voters will have opportunity to decide on animal shelter improvements in November general election

Tuesday 03/18/2014

Pet News - Pima Animal Care Center’s new tent is open for business

Thursday 03/13/2014

Pet News - Happy Holly got a second chance

Tuesday 03/11/2014

Pet News - Puttin' on the Dog

Thursday 03/06/2014

Pet News - The Hermitage Bowl-a-thon

Monday 03/03/2014

Pet News - Hogs N Hounds Charity Ride

Friday 02/28/2014

Pet News - Reading, Watching and Adoptions – 2 for 1- March 1

Monday 02/24/2014

Pet News - Tails & Ales Dog Wash 2014 - Barrio Brewery

Tuesday 02/18/2014

Pet News - Single Mingle: Do a good deed, have a great time and meet others at dog walk/cat cuddle only for singles

Monday 02/17/2014

Pet News - Movies with the cats "little shop of horrors"

Friday 02/14/2014

Pet News - Free Kitty February! We’ve got (too many) fabulous felines waiting to charm

Wednesday 02/12/2014

Pet News - Meet the new shelter veterinarian at Pima Animal Care Center

Monday 02/10/2014

Pet News - February is Pet Dental Health Month: Are Your Dog’s Teeth Healthy?

Thursday 02/06/2014

Pet News - Hermitage Cat Shelter "Thrift Store & More" Grand Opening & Ribbon Cutting Event

Tuesday 02/04/2014

Pet News - Canine College

Wednesday 01/29/2014

Pet News - Hold onto your hats (and collars): Pima Animal Care Center is about to enter an "Empty the Shelter" challenge

Monday 01/27/2014

Pet News - The Million for Tucson Raffle

Thursday 01/23/2014

Pet News - Community service for students at Humane Society

Tuesday 01/21/2014

Pet News - Vaccination clinics at Humane Society

Friday 01/17/2014

Pet News - Free adoption weekend at Humane Society

Wednesday 01/15/2014

Pet News - Guess how many pets were adopted in December from Pima Animal Care Center?

Monday 01/13/2014

Pet News - Pima County wants to hear from you: What does it mean to be a pet-friendly community?

Thursday 01/09/2014

Pet News - Southern Arizona Beagle Rescue

Wednesday 01/08/2014

Pet News - Cover Dog Search and Pet Expo

Monday 01/06/2014

Pet News - Become a volunteer at the Humane Society

Friday 12/27/2013

Pet News - Spay and neuter pets at Humane Society

Tuesday 12/24/2013

Pet News - Our Warmest Holiday Wishes

Monday 12/23/2013

Pet News - Pima Animal Care Center cat cuddling and dog walking

Wednesday 12/18/2013

Pet News - Adoption Hidden Gems

Thursday 12/12/2013

Pima Animal Care Center to host job fair for animal care technicians

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Pet News - Home for the Holidays

Friday 12/06/2013

Pet News - Fire and Ice Skate Party

Tuesday 12/03/2013

Pet News: Books & Bake Sale: December 7th

Monday 12/02/2013

Pet News - "Share the Love" Subaru Adoption Event

Wednesday 11/27/2013

Our Warmest Holiday Wishes

Monday 11/25/2013

Pet News: Black Friday at Pima Animal Care Center

Thursday 11/21/2013

Pet News - Pima Animal Care Center thankful this season for community support in saving more lives

Monday 11/18/2013

Pet News - Restaurant Night Out at On the Border

Thursday 11/14/2013

Pet News - Pet and his “pet mom” reunited after 4 years, thanks to microchip

Tuesday 11/12/2013

Pet News - Home for the Holidays

Thursday 11/07/2013

Pet News - Paws for the Holidays 2013

Monday 11/04/2013

Pet News - Pet First Aid & CPR

Friday 11/01/2013

Pet News - Only $50 to adopt at Humane Society

Wednesday 10/30/2013

Pet News - Savvy on Service Animals

Monday 10/21/2013

Pet News - The Cat's Meow
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…