When does fame stop being an excuse? - The Explorer: Prime Time Review

When does fame stop being an excuse?

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, January 29, 2014 4:00 am

“The lifestyles of the rich and famous”, celebrities are expected to live somewhat extravagant lives, enjoying the surplus of wealth that their careers have bestowed upon them. The recent success and controversy revolving around Martin Scorsese’s “Wolf of Wall Street” just goes to show that we as the viewing public like to watch stories of excess and wealth and all of the various trappings that go along with being famous. We all enjoy a good story, but when do we stop the excess partying, the never-ending good times that just become the makeup of tabloid covers? Enjoying a good romp on the movie screen or on your television set at home is one thing, but when the stories of celebrities gone wild extends into the real world, someone has to be there to stop them.

Another celebrity seems to be making their way down the long road of public humiliation and degradation, as once teen heart-throb Justin Bieber was arrested at 4 a.m. the morning of Jan. 23 for driving under the influence and drag racing in Miami. To make matters worse, Bieber was pulled over driving a rented yellow Lamborghini. According to local news sources, the singer was being followed by multiple Miami Beach Police Department SUV’s when they took up pursuit. After a chase of “significant distance”, Bieber was apprehended, failed to pass a field sobriety test, and was not in possession of a valid driver’s license.

To make matters even worse for Bieber, members of his entourage and friends were using their personal vehicles to shut down the street. Just like a scene from Fast and Furious, Bieber is trying to live the street racer dream.

This is not the first time Justin Bieber has recently found himself under scrutiny for less than sterling actions. Earlier during his stay, Bieber attended friend Lil Scrappy’s birthday party at the King of Diamonds Gentlemen’s Club. 

According to a representative from the venue, Bieber spent $75K in single dollar bills that night. Stories like this do not come as a shock to many who have watched the pop sensation slowly drop the guile of his innocent youth and try to develop a more machismo persona. 

Working against the image of a new, adult Bieber is an incident that occurred earlier this month which is undergoing investigation. California detectives searched Justin Bieber’s home this month looking for incriminating surveillance footage to serve as possible evidence in the pop star’s involvement in an egging vandalism incident in Oct. that caused a few thousand dollars in damage to the house of one of Bieber’s neighbors. In the process of carrying out the search, the dozen investigators discovered cocaine on one of Bieber’s friends that was in the house. While the man’s name was not immediately released, police did state that the cocaine was in plain sight in Bieber’s house upon the arrival of investigators. 

Egging someone’s house is a dumb decision for anyone of any age. The fact that there were thousands of dollars in damages delivered by a simple egging makes matters even worse. Having that in the minds of your fans is bad enough, but having police find cocaine in your house is a PR move in the worst way. As the shining image he has cultivated over the past few years in the hearts of many a young fan begins to fade, the spotlight will grow ever brighter as we the public scrutinize and analyze every mistake. 

Being famous comes with its benefits, which goes without saying. Being able to put your name on something that the whole world knows and loves is an accomplishment that many aspire to but very few ever come even close to achieving. When someone does get their big break and becomes enormously successful in the world, they have an obligation to not spoil their image to the people who look up to them and want to be like them. Especially in the case of a person like Justin Bieber, who has captivated so many young people, when do we finally say enough is enough?

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Wednesday 07/30/2014

Prime Time Review: Two upcoming shows hip-hop heads should not miss

Wednesday 07/23/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Goosebumps’ film coming next summer

Wednesday 07/16/2014

Prime Time Review: Tabloid favorite Lindsay Lohan sues Rockstar over videogame character

Wednesday 07/09/2014

Primetime Review: Marvel continues to build with “Guardians of the Galaxy”

Wednesday 07/02/2014

Prime Time Review: North Korea threatens war over movie

Wednesday 06/25/2014

Prime Time Review: Tucsonan selected for CBS Reality TV

Wednesday 06/18/2014

Prime Time Review: ‘Orange is the New Black’ released to Netflix

Wednesday 06/04/2014

Prime Time Review: X-Men: Days of Future Past - where does it stand?

Wednesday 05/28/2014

Prime Time Review: Microsoft announces new version of Xbox without Kinect

Thursday 05/22/2014

Prime Time Review - Four summer films Likely to disappoint viewers

Wednesday 05/07/2014

Prime Time Review - Star Wars: Episode VII casting draws praise from Hamill, mixed reactions from fans

Wednesday 04/23/2014

Prime Time Review: AC/DC refutes retirement rumors despite absences

Wednesday 04/16/2014

Prime Time Review: Which “Colbert” will appear on “The Late Show”?

Wednesday 04/09/2014

David Letterman announces retirement

Wednesday 03/19/2014

Prime Time Review - Guided by Voices enhances prolific reputation

Wednesday 03/12/2014

Primetime Review: FX renews ‘Archer’ for a pair of new seasons

Wednesday 02/26/2014

Prime Time Review: New Godzilla poster debuts a massive king of monsters

Wednesday 02/19/2014

Primetime Review: “How I Met Your Dad” star has the right stuff

Wednesday 02/12/2014

Philip Seymour Hoffman: The death of a complicated man

Wednesday 01/29/2014

When does fame stop being an excuse?

Wednesday 01/15/2014

Will 2014 be the year of streaming media?

Wednesday 01/01/2014

Start the year with science at UA Mirror Lab

Wednesday 12/18/2013

Is Disney snatching up all your childhood heroes?

Wednesday 12/04/2013

Prime Time Review: Spike Lee’s ‘Oldboy’ remake holds true to the original

Wednesday 11/27/2013

Prime Time Review: Hottest electronics this holiday season

Wednesday 11/20/2013

Primetime Review: El Tour de Tucson rides into town

Wednesday 11/06/2013

Prime Time Review: Horror fans rejoice, Bruce Campbell slated to return as Ash in ‘Army of Darkness 2’

Wednesday 10/23/2013

Prime Time Review: ‘South Park’ falls short of airing deadline for the first time

Wednesday 10/09/2013

Prime Time Review: Prolific author Tom Clancy dies in Baltimore at 66

Wednesday 09/25/2013

Prime Time Review: Grand Theft Auto V lives up to the hype

Wednesday 09/18/2013

Prime Time Review: New iPhone reveals Apple’s ups and downs?

Wednesday 09/11/2013

Jack Nicholson’s ‘retirement’ causes a stir. But is it true?

Wednesday 09/04/2013

Prime Time Review: Lessons to be learned from 2013’s summer films

Wednesday 08/21/2013

‘The Civil Wars’ bittersweet rise to number one

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Primetime Review: Amber Tamblyn to guest star on “Two and a Half Men”

Wednesday 08/07/2013

Prime Time Review: Johnny Depp warns of future retirement

Wednesday 07/31/2013

Primetime Review: The legacy of Walter White - ‘Breaking Bad’ series finale is almost here

Thursday 07/25/2013

Prime Time Review: Comic-Con is a hotspot for fresh ideas

Wednesday 07/17/2013

Primetime Review: Mount Lemmon SkyCenter to supply beautiful views

Wednesday 07/10/2013

Primetime Review: RiffTrax provides cinematic satire

Wednesday 07/03/2013

Prime Time Review: Remembering James Gandolfini

Wednesday 06/26/2013

Prime Time Review: Clark Kent missing in action

Wednesday 06/12/2013

Primetime Review: Christopher Nolan’s vision

Sunday 05/19/2013

Prime Time Review - 'Kitchen Nightmares'

Friday 05/10/2013

Prime Time Review - Indie Rock Veterans provides Tucson with memories Prime Time Review - The future of the online movie market

Friday 04/26/2013

Prime Time Review - New technology seeks to increase theater revenue

Friday 04/19/2013

Prime Time Review - The Pima County Fair is here

Sunday 04/07/2013

Prime Time Review - The end of the LucasArts era

Sunday 03/31/2013

Prime Time Review - La Cocina Provides Positive Local Outlet for Music
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll