Primetime Review: Amber Tamblyn to guest star on “Two and a Half Men” - The Explorer: Prime Time Review

Primetime Review: Amber Tamblyn to guest star on “Two and a Half Men”

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, August 14, 2013 4:00 am | Updated: 11:09 am, Mon Aug 26, 2013.

“Two and a Half Men” will be receiving a much-needed feminine touch as the show goes into its 11th season this year with the addition of “House” and “Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” star, Amber Tamblyn. 

The actress is slated to be playing a five episode guest role on the CBS comedy as Charlie’s previously unmentioned illegitimate daughter, Jenny.

Tamblyn will be joining the “Two Men” when her character moves out to Los Angeles to pursue an acting career and makes contact with her uncle, Alan Harper, played by Jon Cryer. 

Throwing another twist into the show, Tamblyn’s character has been announced to be bisexual. Following much in the footsteps of her late father, Jenny Harper will be preying upon the women of Los Angeles. Jenny was initially said to be a lesbian, though show creator, Chuck Lorre, was recently quoted saying that, “[Jenny Harper] will probably lean more into the bisexual elements of the whole thing.” Lorre described her as very much like her father - “a pretty remarkably strong and ballsy character. Kind of does what she wants, when she wants, with who she wants.”

Even though Amber Tamblyn’s character is only slated to have a five-episode run with the show, a positive response from the viewership may lead to Jenny finding a permanent residence in the house of her late womanizing father.

The introduction of Jenny Harper to the Harper household comes on the heels of a marathon of backstage drama for the hit comedy. Original cast member Charlie Sheen had his infamous falling out with Chuck Lorre and a general loss of sanity, leading to his removal from the show and his character being killed off. 

More recently, the half of a man, Angus T. Jones, left the show as a series regular after his own falling out with Lorre and “Two and a Half Men” as a whole. Young’s character, Jake Harper, checks in with the rest of the characters on occasion but has since departed. Since the loss of two of its stars, production for “Two and a Half Men” has been looking for someone to fill the voids. 

Ashton Kutcher joined the cast two seasons ago as millionaire Walden Schmidt and has since earned a place in the show’s future. With the third role still open, Tamblyn may not be the first actor we see step into a new role in “Two and a Half Men”.

“Two and a Half Men” soon carries on to its 11th season. Long gone are the days of a young Jake living with his emotionally crippled father and raunchy uncle. As the plot lines have developed and avenues have been explored, where does “Two and a Half Men” draw the line and find a conclusion? The addition of Ashton Kutcher in the past few seasons have given the show some life, but a lack of strong writing and the departure of Angus T. Jones leaves the once rib splitting sitcom in an interesting position. Caught somewhere between fart jokes and utter flat line, Amber Tamblyn may prove to be the life raft that “Two and a Half Men” needs. A breath of fresh air.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

Wednesday 04/16/2014

Prime Time Review: Which “Colbert” will appear on “The Late Show”?

Wednesday 04/09/2014

David Letterman announces retirement

Wednesday 03/19/2014

Prime Time Review - Guided by Voices enhances prolific reputation

Wednesday 03/12/2014

Primetime Review: FX renews ‘Archer’ for a pair of new seasons

Wednesday 02/26/2014

Prime Time Review: New Godzilla poster debuts a massive king of monsters

Wednesday 02/19/2014

Primetime Review: “How I Met Your Dad” star has the right stuff

Wednesday 02/12/2014

Philip Seymour Hoffman: The death of a complicated man

Wednesday 01/29/2014

When does fame stop being an excuse?

Wednesday 01/15/2014

Will 2014 be the year of streaming media?

Wednesday 01/01/2014

Start the year with science at UA Mirror Lab

Wednesday 12/18/2013

Is Disney snatching up all your childhood heroes?

Wednesday 12/04/2013

Prime Time Review: Spike Lee’s ‘Oldboy’ remake holds true to the original

Wednesday 11/27/2013

Prime Time Review: Hottest electronics this holiday season

Wednesday 11/20/2013

Primetime Review: El Tour de Tucson rides into town

Wednesday 11/06/2013

Prime Time Review: Horror fans rejoice, Bruce Campbell slated to return as Ash in ‘Army of Darkness 2’

Wednesday 10/23/2013

Prime Time Review: ‘South Park’ falls short of airing deadline for the first time

Wednesday 10/09/2013

Prime Time Review: Prolific author Tom Clancy dies in Baltimore at 66

Wednesday 09/25/2013

Prime Time Review: Grand Theft Auto V lives up to the hype

Wednesday 09/18/2013

Prime Time Review: New iPhone reveals Apple’s ups and downs?

Wednesday 09/11/2013

Jack Nicholson’s ‘retirement’ causes a stir. But is it true?

Wednesday 09/04/2013

Prime Time Review: Lessons to be learned from 2013’s summer films

Wednesday 08/21/2013

‘The Civil Wars’ bittersweet rise to number one

Wednesday 08/14/2013

Primetime Review: Amber Tamblyn to guest star on “Two and a Half Men”

Wednesday 08/07/2013

Prime Time Review: Johnny Depp warns of future retirement

Wednesday 07/31/2013

Primetime Review: The legacy of Walter White - ‘Breaking Bad’ series finale is almost here

Thursday 07/25/2013

Prime Time Review: Comic-Con is a hotspot for fresh ideas

Wednesday 07/17/2013

Primetime Review: Mount Lemmon SkyCenter to supply beautiful views

Wednesday 07/10/2013

Primetime Review: RiffTrax provides cinematic satire

Wednesday 07/03/2013

Prime Time Review: Remembering James Gandolfini

Wednesday 06/26/2013

Prime Time Review: Clark Kent missing in action

Wednesday 06/12/2013

Primetime Review: Christopher Nolan’s vision

Sunday 05/19/2013

Prime Time Review - 'Kitchen Nightmares'

Friday 05/10/2013

Prime Time Review - Indie Rock Veterans provides Tucson with memories Prime Time Review - The future of the online movie market

Friday 04/26/2013

Prime Time Review - New technology seeks to increase theater revenue

Friday 04/19/2013

Prime Time Review - The Pima County Fair is here

Sunday 04/07/2013

Prime Time Review - The end of the LucasArts era

Sunday 03/31/2013

Prime Time Review - La Cocina Provides Positive Local Outlet for Music

Sunday 03/24/2013

Prime Time Review: Adios Leno! How's it Going, Jimmy?

Friday 03/08/2013

Prime Time Review - The spring 4th Avenue Street Fair is coming soon

Thursday 03/07/2013

Prime Time Review - Significance of Oscars should not be overlooked

Wednesday 02/27/2013

Prime Time Review - Catch up on "How I met Your Mother" before it's over

Tuesday 02/26/2013

ABC announces upcoming "Dancing with the Stars" cast

Friday 02/15/2013

Prime Time Review - 'Identity Thief' robs viewers of time and money

Thursday 02/14/2013

Prime Time Review - Residents Complain about Community Center

Monday 02/11/2013

Prime Time Review - Don't let the smell keep you away from the Tucson Rodeo

Friday 02/01/2013

Prime Time Review - What's all the Sparkle About? The Tucson Gem and Mineral Show is here Prime Time Review - Beyonce, Keys better deliver at the Super Bowl

Thursday 01/31/2013

Prime Time Review - "Life of Pi" is a refreshing 3D experience
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…