Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church - The Explorer: Such The Spot

Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church

Print
Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, September 13, 2013 2:24 pm

I read a blog post earlier this week in which the author suggested sixteen things kids should decide for themselves. The first thing he named was religion. His point was very succinct; basically he stated that parents should take their children to church (synagogue, temple, etc) in the early years and then let the child decide beyond that whether or not he or she would like to pursue that religion. As a churchgoing mother of four, I most vehemently disagree. My oldest daughter is nineteen and was raised going to church and Sunday school regularly. In high school, she also participated in youth group. Her participation was mandatory and nonnegotiable. The same is true and will continue to be true for her three younger siblings.

Looking at it from a secular standpoint, I can fully understand that onlookers might question the effectiveness of my method. Faith, after all, cannot be forced or even coerced. It is only faith if in fact it is freely expressed. Anything else is counterfeit. I get that. I agree, even. So why would I insist that my children participate in church activities? I’ll gladly explain.

My reason for raising my children in the church is twofold. First and foremost, I unimpeachably believe the words that are written in the Bible. All of them. And so I take very personally the final commission Jesus issued when, in Matthew 28:19-20 he told us to, “go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you.” I believe that when it comes to making disciples, there is no better place to start than at home.

Secondly, I believe that the church is—overall—a healthy and positive place to be. That is not to say that I believe that the people who attend church regularly are perfect people. Quite the contrary, actually. Churchgoers are, in fact, every bit as human and prone to stumble as the people who avoid church like the plague. In my experience, though, true believers strive to live right, simply put. And when it comes to my children, I’d much rather surround them with people who are at least trying to live right, than people who don’t care enough to notice.

I allow my children to make all sorts of decisions every single day. Some things, on the other hand, are nonnegotiable, attendance at church and church activities among them. I know that there is a possibility that my children will grow up and choose another way. But for now—while I am responsible for meeting their needs—I will continue to nurture them physically, emotionally and, yes, spiritually as I have been called to do.

© 2014 The Explorer. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Welcome to the discussion.

1 comment:

  • John Flanagan posted at 3:30 pm on Sat, Sep 14, 2013.

    John Flanagan Posts: 251

    I loved reading your article, and I think others should be greatly encouraged by it. We should never be uncomfortable or fearful about sharing our faith, and you have certainly articulated it very well. God bless you and your family.

     

Country Thunder Day 4

Country Thunder Day 4

Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich
  • Darcie Maranich was a teen mom long before MTV made it the next big thing. In the 18 years that have passed since, she’s gone on to build a life bold and beautiful here in Tucson. A self-described rebel with a lifestyle blog, her posts at Such The Spot reflect on the ups and downs of life as a mother to four, including one daughter who rocks three 21st chromosomes (or has Down syndrome, in layman’s terms). Her passions for handcrafted food, inspired travel and back-to-basics living make her someone to keep an eye on. She’s @medarcie on Twitter.

Friday 04/11/2014

Such the Spot: Prom yesteryear vs. prom today

Monday 04/07/2014

Such the Spot - The trouble with volunteering as a little league coach

Monday 03/31/2014

Such the Spot - Spring cleaning checklist

Monday 03/17/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in dream chasing

Friday 02/28/2014

Such the Spot - A mom's take on a legalized prejudice bill

Friday 02/21/2014

Such the Spot - Three fresh ideas for packed school lunches

Monday 02/17/2014

Such the Spot - Dental anxiety

Thursday 02/06/2014

Such the Spot - Seven foods for seven days

Monday 01/27/2014

Such the Spot - How I undid years of parenting in one sentence

Thursday 01/16/2014

Such the Spot - What I learned from watching MTV's 'Catfish'

Sunday 01/12/2014

Such the Spot - My phrase for the year

Sunday 01/05/2014

Such the Spot - A lesson in movie going

Monday 12/23/2013

Such the Spot - Are Christmas Cards not a thing anymore

Tuesday 12/17/2013

Such the Spot - Gift ideas for the entire family

Tuesday 12/10/2013

Such the Spot - Elf on the Shelf shenanigans

Monday 12/02/2013

Such the Spot - America's moral decline

Thursday 11/21/2013

Such the Spot - Thanksgiving is coming - send help

Monday 11/04/2013

Such the Spot: What to say when you don't know what to say

Friday 11/01/2013

Such the Spot: Embracing the candles on the cake

Tuesday 10/29/2013

Such the spot: An anniversary dinner splurge

Friday 10/11/2013

Such the Spot - Six things every husband should keep in his car

Monday 10/07/2013

Such the Spot - Confessions of a football convert

Thursday 10/03/2013

Such the Spot - On not sweating the small stuff

Friday 09/13/2013

Such the Spot - Why I take my children to church

Thursday 09/05/2013

Such the Spot - Getting acclimated to the desert

Tuesday 08/27/2013

Such the Spot - A rose by another name

Friday 08/23/2013

Such the Spot - Somewhere between couch potato and adrenaline junkie

Monday 08/12/2013

Such the Spot - Age appropriateness for household chores

Monday 08/05/2013

Such the spot - My secret criminal life

Monday 07/22/2013

Such the Spot - Teaching my daughter to drive. Again

Monday 07/15/2013

Such the Spot - It's back-to-school time already

Friday 07/12/2013

Such the Spot - Two ways to satisfy your inner foodie this weekend

Monday 07/01/2013

Such the Spot - No, I don't like dogs. But yes, I have one

Tuesday 06/25/2013

Such the Spot - The trip we'll laugh about later

Friday 06/14/2013

Such the Spot - Please don't feed the children

Monday 06/10/2013

Such the Spot - A personal plea for water safety awareness

Thursday 06/06/2013

Such the Spot - When used car negotiations go awry

Wednesday 05/29/2013

Such the Spot - The New Neighbors

Sunday 05/19/2013

Such the Spot - The audacious pursuit of dreams

Monday 05/13/2013

Such the Spot - A Mother's Day Surprise

Friday 05/10/2013

Such the Spot - 5 family-friendly activities in Tucson

Friday 04/26/2013

Such the Spot - Mother doesn't always know best

Sunday 04/21/2013

Such the Spot - Wisdom gained from the baseball stands

Thursday 04/18/2013

Such the Spot: The lessons you just can't teach

Sunday 04/07/2013

Such the Spot - Ask not what your team can do for you

Sunday 03/31/2013

Such the Spot - Dime store advice dished out on social media

Saturday 03/16/2013

Such the Spot: The benefits of inclusive classrooms

Friday 03/08/2013

Such the Spot - College send off is too tough

Friday 02/22/2013

Such the Spot - Confessions of a flawed foodie

Thursday 02/14/2013

Such the Spot - Crying foul on doctors who charge late fees
Spacer4px

Follow us on Facebook

Online poll

Loading…